CYCLESENSE TADCASTER LEAGUE FINAL RESULT AFTER EVENT 15, 13th AUGUST 2009

First Claim

Posn	Name	Cat	Club	Points	Events
1	Doug Hart		Yorks Velo	277	9
2	John Colman	V	Yorkshire RC	276	12
3	Matt Haigh		Leeds Westfield	265	11
4	Andy Johnson		Yorks Velo	253	8
5	James Atkinson		Yorkshire RC	252	9
6	John Woods	V	Yorks Velo	249	9
7	Steve Smith	V	Yorkshire RC	246	9
8	Roy Cannon	·	Seacroft Wheelers	229	9
9	Hugh Smith		Yorks Velo	228	7
10	Andrew Lee		Wetherby Wheelers	199	, 7
11	Simon Denison	V	Seacroft Wheelers	194	10
12	Mike/ Barbara Penrice	V	Seacroft Wheelers	192	11
13	Nigel Baldwin	•	Yorkshire RC	168	6
14	Nick Barnes	Yth	Seacroft Wheelers	165½	10
15	Peter Dickinson	V	Seacroft Wheelers	165	8
16	Kevin Warr	V	Seacroft Wheelers	162	5
17	Howard Blakeley	V	Wetherby Wheelers	157	11
18	Seb Marsh	v Yth	Seacroft Wheelers	150	9
		V		143½	-
19	Stuart Whittle	·=	Wetherby Wheelers		11
20	Garry Marsh	V	Seacroft Wheelers	142	11
21	Antony Brumby	.,	Seacroft Wheelers	136½	8
22	Robert Tate	V	Leeds Westfield	135½	7
23	Andy Bairsto	V	Yorkshire RC	127	8
24	Mark Glynn		Yorks Velo	123	7
25	Mike Dixon	V	Yorkshire RC	121	4
26	Matt Howitt		Yorkshire RC	118	3
27=	Greg Thorley		Yorks Velo	117	4
27=	Mark Hardie		Yorkshire RC	117	5
29	Chris Barnes	Yth	Seacroft Wheelers	114	10
30	lan Lazenby		Seacroft Wheelers	107½	4
31	Janet Tate	V	Leeds Westfield	106	9
32	Robyn Oldham		Leeds Westfield	99	4
33	Mike Marshall		Yorks Velo	78	2
34	James Gullen		Yorks Velo	78	2
35	Jim Cole		Seacroft Wheelers	77	3
36	Nick Griffiths	V	Yorks Velo	64	2
37	Karen Glynn		Yorks Velo	63½	3
38	Peter Jackson	V	Leeds Westfield	55	4
39	Jason Hemsworth	V	Yorks Velo	54	2
40	Chris Beetham	V	Seacroft Wheelers	52½	3
41	Keith Richardson	V	Leeds Westfield	52	3
42	Nick Cheah		Yorks Velo	51	3
43	Abey Lawremce		Leeds Westfield	50	2
44	John Griffiths	V	Yorkshire RC	46	3
45	Mandy Barnes	V	Seacroft Wheelers	42	3
46	Steve Coultish	V	Leeds Westfield	37	1
47	Nigel Goscinski	V	Yorkshire Velo	36	1
48	John Blomeley	V	Yorkshire RC	34	1
49	Richard Purchon	V	Seacroft Wheelers	31	2
50	Russell Brown		Yorkshire RC	30½	1
51	Keith Storr	V	Yorkshire RC	29	1
52=	Steve Woodrup	V	Yorkshire RC	27	1
52=	Nick Hanson	V	Seacroft Wheelers	27	1
54	Stan Mills	V	Yorkshire RC	26	1
55	John Wilkinson	V	Seacroft Wheelers	21	1
56	William Kinally	V	Wetherby Wheelers	15	1
	•		•		

Second Claim

1	Matt Lunn		Seacroft Wheelers	260	9
2	Mike Shacklock		Leeds Westfield	235	9
3	Colin Hawxby		Leeds Westfield	230	6
4	Peter McGowen		Seacroft Wheelers	224½	8
5	Nigel Bennett		Seacroft Wheelers	206	11
6	Peter Macklam		Yorkshire RC	195½	11
7	Ian Cooke		Leeds Westfield	160	4
8	Lewis Barry		Seacroft Wheelers	134	6
9	Giles Dumont		Seacroft Wheelers	127	4
10	Chris Parker		Seacroft Wheelers	126	7
11	Carol Barry		Seacroft Wheelers	125	6
12	Simon Wright		Seacroft Wheelers	122	4
13	Keith Storey		Seacroft Wheelers	78½	4
14	Paul Kirk		Seacroft Wheelers	63	2
15	DaveMeakin		Yorkshire RC	30	1
16	Robert Porter		Seacroft Wheelers	26	1
17	Ben Cooke	Yth	Leeds Westfield	22	1
18	Paul McKenna		Seacroft Wheelers	19	1

Riders: 32 Seacroft Wheelers 13. Yorkshire RC 9. Wetherby Wheelers 2 Leeds Westfield 8 Yorkshire Velo organised

SUMMARY

The 2009 Cyclesense League draws to a close with a win for Doug Hart of Yorkshire Velo with a score of 277. Last year he had to settle for winner of the 2nd claim riders with 276 points, so two years of excellent performances. Last year's winner, John Colman, Yorkshire RC, was only one point down with 276 for another brilliant performance. Matt Lunn came back from injury to take the second claimers top spot with 260 points after his second place last year.

Janet Tate, Leeds Westfield was once again highest placed woman with 106 points. Nick Barnes was highest placed youth with 165½ points, in front of a fast improving Seb Marsh on 150, both are members of Seacroft Wheelers. Four youths took part this year, as against two last year.

Top Vet on Standard was Leeds Westfield's Bob Tate with an average of 3.13, closely followed by John Colman on 3.ll and the Penrice tandem on 3.03. Not too bad as the tandem standards are 10% less generous than for solo riders. Other Vet on Std results are: Peter Dickinson plus 2.59, Steve Smith +2.02, John Woods +1.48, Howard Blakeley +1.20, Stuart Whittle +.57. Andy Bairsto +.48 Simon Denison +.44, Janet Tate +.33 and Garry Marsh minus 1.36.

This year's competition was very well supported with 75 different riders taking part. 57 were first claimers and 18 second claim, so the balance was just about right. John Colman was the only person to ride the maximum of 12, well done to him, and also everyone for their support, 409 rides this year as against 325 in 2008.

An onslaught on the League fastest times saw Ian Cooke bring the V318 down from 21.47 to 21.23, Doug Hart reduced the Cawood 12.5 from 27.48 to 27.04, Ian Cooke reduced the 15 (V328) from 33.11 to 33.06 and Doug Hart knocked exactly one minute off the 25 time to make it 56.59. It is possible that if we cannot use the A64 (Colin Hawksby 19.47) we will have to look for other flattish ten mile courses so I have included Doug Hart's Cawood 10 time of 22.27. I think if we only have the rolling V318 it will discourage many riders from taking part, especially the older ones.

Overall: 409. Seacroft 182. Yorkshire RC 77. Leeds Westfield 61. Yorks Velo 59. Wetherby Wheelers 30